My Boys

brothers-flickr-cc-gerry
Image courtesy of Flickr CC user gerry – source

Hello Lovelies,

A thousand apologies for my erratic posting schedule lately. Things have been hectic beyond words, but I am trying my darndest to get back on track and hopefully now that I have finished my library/office space I will be able to get back into it and tackle the world of writing head-on once more.

Today I have a bit of a reflective sort of post for you all. You see, last weekend was my middle boy’s 6th birthday and tomorrow will be my youngest boy’s 4th birthday and here I am sitting in front of the computer trying to figure out where on earth all the time has gone.

No matter how many years fly by, even if I wake one day to find that my babies are now grown and have babies of their own, they will forever and always be my babies. My boys will be My Boys and my girl will be My Girl (a great movie, but not what I’m talking about here). The bond between mother and child is often the strongest bond there is, but there’s something different about the bond between mother and son. We are the first woman they will ever love, the woman that they will compare all others to, I only hope that I can live up to the hype.

Even though there is two years difference between my boys, they are similar in many ways, not just in their appearance. They are each other’s best friend and one seems to be slightly lost without the other, especially now that the middle one has started kindergarten.

Yes, they are quite similar, but on the other hand they are two completely different people. My middle boy loves to solve puzzles, to figure out the answer to the problem and to analyse the situation. He can be sensitive and sweet, but only shows affection to those he is very close to. He can be confident, even in front of a crowd, but is also very stubborn. He likes when things are either right or wrong, so much so that he has the tendency to “freak-out” and be overwhelmed when required to explore his creative side in areas such as art or music.

They both look up to their big sister, often turning to her for help or advice (even if it results in misinformation) and most of the time, they enjoy simply being in each other’s company.

My youngest boy is quite a character, he is the clown of the family who has the ability to change the mood of a room from somber to hysterics in a mere moment. He can cry at the drop of a hat is things don’t go his way, but it’s all an act because as soon as it changes he stops crying just as quickly as it began. He enjoys exploring the world around him through the eyes of his alter egos Swokie and Xanagog. Don’t ask me how he came up with these two characters have been around for quite a while, with Swokie being the first to appear. Swokie is an outgoing, rough and tumble sort of character who can be quite cheeky at times and hides his sensitive side behind his rough exterior, where as Xanagog is more reserved alien sort of character (not alien as in little green man, alien more like a Star Trek of Star Wars character) who is very inquisitive. I’m been informed that I am invited to the premiere of my youngest’s first movie titled, “Swokie, the Goodest Bad Guy” so be sure to keep an eye out in the cinema for this box office hit in around twenty years or so!

Whatever the future holds for my boys, I just want them to be happy, to know that they are loved unconditionally and whether or not my youngest becomes the movie star he desires or my middle boy becomes the scientist or engineer I believe him destined to be, doesn’t matter. What matters is that they are happy, loved and respected, being whoever they are supposed to be, whoever they wish to be.

Be yourself and you can be whoever and whatever you want to be.

So to my boys (and my girl), know that I love you. Always, forever and unconditionally. Let your light shine and shine brightly in the world of your creation.

Embrace you.

Embrace life.

Embrace happiness.

Enjoy,

KK

© Katherine A. Kovács and The Writer Within, (2013-2016). Unauthorised use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Katherine A. Kovács and The Writer Within with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Leave a Reply

