Reality Returns

clocks-flickr-jean-l
Image courtesy of Flick CC user Jean L. Source

Hello Lovelies,

After a little over two weeks back in the Land Down Under we have very much returned to reality. The reality of school drop-off, working and everything else that comes with the day-to-day life of a family of five.

Our time in Budapest now seems like it was a lifetime ago, but it has only been a couple of weeks and the reality of being back has really started to set in. It’s not all bad though, I am definitely enjoying being back in our house and being able to cook in a pot large enough to prepare a proper meal for a family of five. Oh and driving my car again, let’s not forget the car! Shout out to my baby brother (who’s not really a baby but will always be my baby bro) for charging the battery and servicing the car after it sat in the garage for a year!

The task now that we have now returned to the real-world, is returning to some sense of normalcy. Lately things have been so hectic and we still have so much unpacking to do, that some days I’m not sure whether I am coming or going! This has caused not only a whirlwind of craziness for the entire family, but also has wreaked havoc on my writing schedule. I failed to even get anywhere near last month’s goal of 8,000 words and I doubt I will get much done this month as well, especially when considering that we are already over halfway through October. I will definitely have a lot of catching up to do when things settle down a little, but I have so many plans and ideas.

The good thing about moving back into the same house is that you have the opportunity to change things up a bit. This time around, I’m devoting one of the bedrooms as a library/writing room, with three large bookshelves lining one wall, with plenty  just enough room for all of my books (until I buy more of course!) and also a desk to be able to actually sit and write. At the moment though, with all the unpacking, you can’t see much of the floor in that particular room but it’s definitely going to be my little sanctuary once it’s all done.

So the return of reality brings mixed emotions, I will always cherish our Budapest adventure and miss the time we spent there, but I also am appreciating being back in our home and the little things we missed while we were away. The whole working, waking up to alarms thing though can take a hike! So, if someone wants to offer me a seven-figure writing contract or something like that, feel free to contact me!

Until then, reality has definitely returned, so best to enjoy the little things!

Enjoy,

KK

© Katherine A. Kovács and The Writer Within, (2013-2016). Unauthorised use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Katherine A. Kovács and The Writer Within with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Leave a Reply

