Older and Wiser?

Hello Lovelies,

Well, it’s that time of year again. The time of year when I can’t help myself from taking a little more notice and taking stock of how many new grey hairs the past year has given me (quite a few this time, unfortunately), how many wrinkles I now have (quite a few of those too) and how many extra “jiggly bits” I now have (there’s plenty of those too!).

Yup, that’s right, it’s that time of year again when I am almost another year older. The time of year when I cease to be a 31 year old and become a 32 year old.

Monday I’ll go to sleep, being 31 and then BOOM! I’ll wake up on Tuesday as a 32 year old!

I know I don’t age an entire year in  one night, but I can’t help but over-analyse my appearance and start to think to myself, “Geez, I’m getting old!” Yes, I know you’re all telling me that in the whole scheme of things 32 isn’t old at all, but it is definitely older and closer to 40 and 50 and 60 than 31 is.

Since last year I’ve become fatter, wrinklier and have more grey hairs, which are especially noticeable now because I haven’t been able to get my hair coloured since July last year. I actually pulled out three super thick ones this morning that were sticking out awkwardly, only to brush my hair and see that there are quite a few more hiding underneath. So I chose to strategically position my fringe instead of giving myself a bald spot.

I’m definitely older in appearance, but am I older in mind and am I any wiser? Perhaps I am, my choice of keeping my grey hairs instead of creating a bald spot was quite a wise decision I think,so I guess that’s a start.

A lot of things have definitely happened over this past year and a lot of things have changed. These changes have brought about a different outlook on life, I definitely have a different perspective on many things now. Do these changes in perspective make me wiser? Perhaps in some ways they do.

When I think of where I was with my writing a year ago and how much I have grown over this past year as a writer, I think that might be another indication of perhaps becoming a little wiser.

According to Merriam-Webster the word wise can be defined as:

  • having or showing wisdom or knowledge usually from learning or experiencing many things

In considering this simple definition, I suppose I could say that I am a lot wiser than I was one year ago. I have definitely learnt and experienced many things over the past year, some good, some not so good, but either way I always took something from these experiences.

I have learnt the hard way that people are not always as they seem. This may be something that seems quite obvious and almost synonymous with the saying, “don’t judge a book by it’s cover”, but it can be a hard lesson to learn especially when instead of discovering something or someone is better, kinder or nicer than they appear, that they are in fact the complete opposite. That experience has made me wiser and aware of the games some people play, this was not a nice lesson to learn but a valuable one nonetheless.

I have learnt that instead of trying to please all those around you, it is better to start off with yourself and the others will follow. If you waste all your time and energy trying to please everyone else, you often end up being miserable yourself. If you first take care of yourself and you family, then those who are worth your time and effort will follow. Sounds simple, but it’s not always easy to do.

Yes, I have learnt many valuable lessons over this past year, some of those lessons were difficult and some of them were welcomed,  so I suppose yes, I am wiser than I was one year ago.

Am I older though, besides physically older?

Well, I still enjoy watching cartoons and playing games, I usually laugh first and ask questions later when someone trips or falls (as long as it’s nothing serious) and I may occasionally like to skip through the park like an idiot, smiling like a loon that escaped from some sort of padded room.

My conclusion? I would say I am older in mind, but grasping onto the threads of childhood and immaturity in an attempt to remain young at heart.

And there’s nothing wrong with that!

So yes, I am wiser I suppose.

Yes, I am older, wrinklier, fatter and have more grey hairs, but who cares!

I am going to try my best to be older and wiser (?) and try less to take stock each time I become another year older and I’ll still keep on clinging to those final strands of childhood to stay young at heart.

One of my favourite internet, Facebook, blogging people is Constance Hall. I love her because she doesn’t mince her words, she’s brutally honest about motherhood and life in general and she does it with hilarious flair. I also love the fact that she refers to her fellow mums and women as Queens! Admit it, it makes you feel pretty awesome being referred to as a Queen, right!

When I began “taking stock” I came across a Facebook post of hers that summed it all up perfectly:

constance hall screen shot
Screenshot taken from Constance Hall’s Facebook Page www.facebook.com/Constance-Hall-1019711431407015/. Copyright of Constance Hall.

So when Tuesday rolls around, instead of thinking of much fatter, wrinklier and more grey I am, I’m going to tell everyone that I’m older and wiser and tell them how f***ing brilliant I am, even if they think I’m nuts! Maybe they’ll believe me, maybe they won’t, maybe they already knew all that and I was the last one to arrive at the “I’m f***ing brilliant” party.

Whatever it is, Happy Birthday to an older, wiser, fatter, wrinklier, more grey but F***ING BRILLIANT me!

Thanks for the reminder Queen Constance!

Enjoy,

KK

 

© Katherine A. Kovács and The Writer Within, (2013-2016). Unauthorised use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Katherine A. Kovács and The Writer Within with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

 

4 thoughts on “Older and Wiser?

  1. Well my kath now that you are older and wiser hope you had a great birthday lunch and the kids sang sweetly to you happy birthday darling god bless grand ma and grand dad

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

