Finally, I’ve Found the Link!

llinks flickr CC Patrick McConahay
Image courtesy of Flickr CC user Patrick McConahay

Hello Lovelies,

I didn’t get much writing done this week, but this time it wasn’t procrastination’s fault. I’ve been busy researching, plotting and generally figuring out my characters, which is all super important of course. Yes I admit, that I may have wasted the odd minute (hour) or two (100) on social media and googling Outlander and Game of Thrones, but in the process of working things through in my mind, I’ve had a major breakthrough!

Whilst I already know what will happen in József and Anna’s story (I spoke about that here), through the process of writing and exploring my own mind, I am able to figure out the finer details of the story and the characters.

Since starting this story, I’ve been trying to figure out how some of the main characters of this book are connected to the other characters later in the series. If you didn’t already know, this book is intended to be the first in a series of novels, but is still able to  be read as a standalone as the main characters in this first book are secondary characters in the remainder of the series (read more about my Current Works in Progress here).

I’m sure many writers will agree with me when I say that the breakthrough moments are often at the strangest or most inconvenient of times and usually not during the time when you are sitting down ready to work, like it’s supposed to. This time, my breakthrough moment came at 1 a.m. when I had already been tossing and turning for a few hours trying to sleep. I was running through things in my mind; what scenes I wanted to write next, who the characters’ relatives were, their relationship, dreams, hopes and the turmoil of events that would be coming up later in their story. What I kept coming back to though, was how were József and Anna connected to the the subsequent novels. I already knew the obvious connection, which is actually glimpsed in the prologue of An Anguished Heart , this connection I knew before I even started writing József and Anna’s story. However,  I wanted to go beyond the obvious, I wanted to figure out the critical links, the links that those who read the series will appreciate and the links that would let my mind rest, at least for a short while.

So, there I was tossing back and forth, my husband snoring like a freight train next to me. As I went through some of the events coming up in An Anguished Heart, it finally hit me! I finally found the crucial link!

My excitement would have been comparable to those moments when you come across the comments from those lovely folks on Facebook who helpfully spam the comments on different pages claiming they’ve finally found the links to the movies you’ve been constantly searching for online. I’m a little disappointed that the links never work though, the links totally look legitimate!

wp_ss_20160417_0001

OK, maybe I’m being sarcastic here, I have never actually clicked on any of those links and scroll straight past those comments, but it was an awesome feeling to have finally figured it out.

Unfortunately though, I’m not willing to share with you the exact details of my breakthrough, as that will give away too much of the story. Hopefully one day not too far away though, I will actually finish something and you will be able to read József and Anna’s story in it’s entirety.

Until then, here is a short excerpt where József needs to ask a somewhat strange favour from a friend.

Enjoy,

KK

“Oh József, it’s you.” He said looking up from his desk, sounding surprised to see me. It was then I realised that I had never really come to Ádam for anything, except those few times on my sister’s behalf. Ádam and I had always been friends and had become closer over the last few years, especially after he and my sister Éva became engaged, but I never really go out of my way to come and speak to him. I suddenly felt like I was interrupting something important and thought that perhaps what I was about to ask him was not only odd, but perhaps too big of an ask.

-An Anguished Heart by Katherine A. Kovács

 

© Katherine A. Kovács and The Writer Within, (2013-2016). Unauthorised use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Katherine A. Kovács and The Writer Within with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

 

 

Leave a Reply

