Unexpected Change of Weather

Hello Lovelies,

I’ve been trying to get this month’s word-count goal accomplished before the 20th of this month. Why you ask? Well if you remember back to earlier this year, I enlisted the help of a close friend and one of my top supporters to kick my arse for procrastinating. Each month I send her an updated first draft of An Anguished Heart as proof of meeting my goal and in return, she doesn’t tally up arse kickings for when she sees me again.

Well that friend is coming to visit on the 20th and was looking forward to kicking my arse in person and it was just the push I needed to get on with it. There’s nothing like the threat of violence to get your act together. Seriously though, she would physically kick my arse, it would be more like making me feel guilty for not telling her more of József and Anna’s story, which I think might be worse.

So last night I put the kids (and husband!) to bed and sat down with a bottle of diet coke (I know it’s bad for me, but I don’t drink coffee) and hyped myself up into a writing, researching, note-making craze until almost 3 a.m.

I got quite a bit done actually, I’m only around 2,600 words off this month’s goal and I was able to figure out a lot of things that are coming up next in József and Anna’s story. I’m totally going to make my friend laugh and then cry like a baby with the upcoming events!

Whilst writing a scene (which you can get a sneak peek of below) when the weather changes suddenly from a beautiful spring day, to pouring rain, sounds pretty crappy right, but it was actually an amazingly beautiful thing to happen. I got to thinking how sometimes change, however unexpected are actually one of the most invigorating things in life. Don’t get me wrong, a lot of the time change is scary, nerve wracking and down right just sucks! But other times, change is exactly what you need even if you didn’t know it until after the fact.

Sometimes an unexpected change occurs for the better and we are unable to return to life as it was before, even if we wanted to because in truth you couldn’t imagine your life being any different. Before that you were just existing day-to-day, then the metaphorical unexpected change of weather comes along and forces you to live again. You had no idea you were sleep-walking through life until the universe cause you to awaken. That is the type of change that is good, that is the type of change that is welcomed, the type of change that we are thankful for once it has happened.

Now it’s your turn to reflect on the unexpected changes that happened in your lives that forced you to awaken and live again.

Feel free to share in the comments section if you’d like or simply it to yourself as a reflection of an unexpected change that ended up being for the better.

Below is a sneak peek of the scene that sparked this week’s post, it was written in the wee hours of the morning, so excuse any errors!

Enjoy,

KK

rain tree flickr cc Steve
Photo Courtesy of Flickr CC user Steve

 

“That was a little unexpected wasn’t it.” Anna says, peering out at the pouring rain from our makeshift shelter under the tree.

I smiled, taking in her own dishevelled appearance and noting how beautiful she looked in that moment.

“I don’t suppose that will be much help in this weather?” I ask, pointing to Anna’s parasol.

“Erm, I doubt it.” She replies still on the verge of laughter.

“Well then, I guess we have two options then.” I say, as Anna looks at me expectantly, “We can either wait it out and hope the rain stops soon or….”

“Or…?” She questions with a raised eyebrow.

“Or we make a run for it.” I finish.

Anna peers out again from under the relative dryness of tree, looking at the sky, then at her shoes and finally looks at me with a mischievous gleam in here eye, “Well…. I am already quite wet. I say we make a run for it.”

And just like that, my mischievous Anna hitches up her skirt and takes off running across the lawn in the pouring rain. I shake my head and laugh, before taking off after her, shoving the blanket into the basket in my hand and laughing like a couple of giddy school children playing in the rain.

 

 

 

© Katherine A. Kovács and The Writer Within, (2013-2016). Unauthorised use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Katherine A. Kovács and The Writer Within with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Unexpected Change of Weather

Leave a Reply

