Great Loves

Kumar's edit valentine pic Flickr CC
Image courtesy of Flickr CC user Kumar’s Edit

Hello Lovelies,

For this week’s post I thought I’d share with you some of the great loves of my life, in honour of it being Valentine’s Day.

So in no particular order, here is a list of my life’s great loves:

  • My Husband: for some reason, I thought I’d better include my husband as a part of this list, just in case he happens to reads my blog one of these days. Imagine the size of the doghouse I’d be in if I didn’t include my significant other on a list of great loves. So, what is it I love about him? I don’t think I could really tell you exactly what it is that makes me want to love him. It’s a combination of things, I suppose, like his good looks, muscular physique and super hot Hungarian accent (I may or may not be trying to get some brownie points here), as well as everything we have been through together. I love it when he speaks Hungarian to be by accident, even though I don’t always understand what he is saying. Anyone who tells you that French is the “language of love” is surely mistaken or obviously has not had someone speak Hungarian to them before. I also love to made fun of him when he mispronounces English words (sorry, but it is quite funny). Luckily he is kinder than  I am and he doesn’t laugh when I mispronounce Hungarian words (which is quite often). Oh and he also used to be a baker, so that leads to my next great love….
  • Food: No matter how often I say I am going to eat “healthy” and lose the baby weight (my youngest is now 3!), I still end up eating every delicious morsel of food in sight. I really do want to be good and eat healthier, but I just cannot resist the apple pie begging me to eat it or the delicious kürtöskalács calling to me at the metro station. Luckily we have been walking a lot while we’ve been in Budapest, because otherwise I think I would have to be rolled down the street and I don;t think I would be able to climb the four flights of stairs up to our apartment, there really is too much delicious food in Hungary. After eating and walking around Budapest, we come to my next great love….
  • Nap Time: I am not a morning person at all, seriously don’t talk to me before 10 am unless you want me to stab you in the eye with an ice pick. I am very much a night person and can quite easily stay up until the wee-hours of the morning. However when one stays up until the wee-hours of the morning but then has a 3 year old and 5 year old waking up at 7:30 in the morning (the 8 year old will sleep until you literally drag her out of bed), nap-time is one of my most favourite times of day, the only problem is the kids don’t always cooperate, only the 3 year old will sometimes have a nap with me…
  • My children: “Have kids,” they said, “It’ll be fun” they said. It’s not always fun and games being a mother of three children, it’s stressful, exhausting and sometimes you pretend to go to the toilet just for a moment’s peace. It doesn’t work though, they tend to follow you in and ask what you’re doing, to which my answer is, “What does it look like I’m doing?” Don’t get me wrong, I wouldn’t change anything for all the money (or food) in the world, but it’s not as easy or “fun” as some people think. All the worry, frustration and exhaustion melts away though when your three year old says, “I yub (love) you mummy” or when you see the excitement on their faces when you give them something as seemingly insignificant as a balloon. No be a mother of three is not always easy, but it is worth every sacrifice, every moment of frustration and every ounce of exhaustion for the unconditional love between parent and child.
  • Writing: Yes, of course writing is on the list. Although writing is one of my great loves, writing is kind of similar to being a parent of three children; it’s exhausting, frustrating and stressful, but it’s still worth it. Creating and exploring new worlds, new characters, new times. Nothing beats the feeling you get from exploring and creating, the sense of accomplishment and satisfaction when you finish another chapter, another scene. Yes, writing is one of my great loves, but it still doesn’t stop procrastination from rearing it’s ugly time wasting head!
  • My Family:  Besides my husband and children, I have quite a large family. I only have one brother but now he has his own little family which includes my 8 month old nephew, so our overall family is always getting bigger. They say you can choose your friends but not your family so I guess I’m stuck with them (or they’re stuck with me) for better or for worse, hahaha. My family are also some of my biggest supporters. Some may have noticed that my mum and grandmother are among my top commenters on this blog and my dad (who’s a self-confessed non-reader, unless it’s some sort of instruction booklet) has read the first few chapters of An Anguished Heart and then enjoyed it so much he has even offered to help proof read it. So I guess they must love me at least a little and I suppose I love them too, most of the time anyway.
  • My Friends: Like I said above, you can choose your friends but not your family and the friends I have are also like family, they may have chosen to be friends in the beginning but after more than twenty years I think it’s safe to say they’re more like family… and they’re stuck with me! One friend in particular, who I’ve spoken about quite a few times on this blog, has always been my number one supporter when it came to my creative pursuits and she is now my newly recruited butt-kicker when it comes to getting me to meet my monthly word count. I was significantly behind for this month’s word-count, but after she read last week’s post she quickly sent me a butt-kicking email which then resulted in me writing 3,000 words in one sitting as well as some research and additional hand-written notes. So thanks for that butt-kicking BFF!

There you have it, some of my great loves, there’s more but I think I’ve already bored you all enough. I might try and get a little closer to my word-count goal instead.

Wishing you all a happy Valentine’s Day!

Be sure to tell (and show) your loved ones you care, but don’t be like the couple my eight year old spotted in the park.  The couple who were kissing quite “passionately” shall we say, in broad daylight, with kids running around. Because apparently that is “yucky” and kids don’t want to see that, they just want to get to the playground without being scarred for life.

Enjoy,

KK

© Katherine A. Kovács and The Writer Within, (2013-2016). Unauthorised use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Katherine A. Kovács and The Writer Within with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

One thought on “Great Loves

  1. I love it, excuse the pun lol. One of my greatest feelings of love, besides my husband is the love of being a Grandmother. The first moment you see your Grandchild you feel like your heart is going to burst out of your chest 😄

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

