I’m Dreaming of a White Christmas

snow flickr cc david nagy
                                               Budapest in Winter.                                                          Image courtesy of Flickr CC David Nagy

 

Hello Lovelies,

Ever since I heard Bing Crosby sing, “I’m Dreaming of a White Christmas”as a very young child, I’ve always wanted a Christmas with snow. Ever since I heard his warm bass-baritone voice sing the opening lyrics, I too was dreaming of a white Christmas. There’s a;ready something magical about snow covered surroundings and combining that with the magic of Christmas, celebrating with loved ones, would really be something special indeed.

I thought I would have my chance the last time I was in Budapest, 11 years ago. However, on that particular occasion, it was the first time in almost fifty years that Hungary had what they called, “fekete karácsony” or “black Christmas” – a Christmas without snow. In fact, it didn’t really snow until mid-January that year, when I had already returned to the Australian summer.

This time round, I didn’t get my hopes up luckily, because it seems that it is going to happen again and I my white Christmas will still be something of my dreams and I will have to settle for a white mid-January it looks like!

I’m beginning to think it may be my fault, in some strange way I’m bringing a piece of Australian summer with me each time I travel to Europe. Everyone has been commenting on how unusually warm it’s been this year, perhaps it’s global warming or something, either way the chances of a white Christmas are very small indeed.

Perhaps it is better that my dreams of a white Christmas remain as just dreams. Perhaps the reality of a white Christmas, travelling in the bitter cold snow to celebrate Christmas, then trudging back again, might not be as magical as it seems.

For now I am content to settle for the magic of dreams, reality doesn’t always live up to the hype. I’ll be happy to be with my little family, to see the happiness and joy on my children’s faces. Don’t get me wrong, I can’t wait for snow to fall, instead of the few small flurries we’ve had, but if it’s not on Christmas, then I’m OK with that. I’ll just keep on dreaming of a white Christmas, where everything is perfect and magical.

Wishing you all a Merry Christmas.

Enjoy,

KK

 

© Katherine A. Kovács and The Writer Within, (2013-2015). Unauthorised use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Katherine A. Kovács and The Writer Within with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Leave a Reply

