It’s my Party and I’ll Write if I Want to!

Hello Lovelies,

Welcome to an extra post for this week in honour of my little Blog’s Birthday. That’s right, it’s been two whole years since I made the conscious decision to embrace the writer within and I still think it’s one of the best decisions I’ve made.

A lot has happened in the last two years, both in my personal life and in my writing. I’m still yet to finish a first draft of a novel (hopefully 2016 will be my year, because 2015 certainly wasn’t), but these past two of years have helped me to explore and develop my writing. I’ve finished a Masters degree in education while working full-time and part-time and raising three young children and looking after a husband. Somewhere int here I somehow still found the time to write weekly blog posts and also a little writing on whatever I happened to be working on at the time.

So

blog bday pic

If you look at some of my earlier posts, you will be able to follow my journey. I’ve definitely stumbled a lot along the way, changed my mind a lot and I am still yet to finish a first draft of a novel, I may have seven different novels planned, but I’m still yet to find myself in possession of a completed manuscript.

Over the next year, I hope to finish (at least the first draft) of An Anguished Heart, which is the story of a young József (the same József from Lonely Hearts, only younger) and Anna. Perhaps one day you will all be able to see these stories in print, one can only hope.

Until then, here is a small sneak peek at chapter 3, written from Anna’s POV.

Happy Birthday to The Writer Within!

Enjoy,

KK

I was still sufficiently infuriated from my encounter with József when I stormed in the front door, slamming it behind me and frightening the cat, causing it to dash and under the chair in the sitting room.

“Anna is that you?” Mama called out from the kitchen. I seriously considered for a moment to head straight to my room to think of all the forms of violence I would like to inflict upon József, but knew I never would as I was in no way a person of violence. So instead I headed into the kitchen, hoping that whatever smelt so delicious would help to lighten my mood. I was angry with József and the way he spoke about me to his friends, but more than anything, I was hurt.

 

 

© Katherine A. Kovács and The Writer Within, (2013-2015). Unauthorised use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Katherine A. Kovács and The Writer Within with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

3 thoughts on “It’s my Party and I’ll Write if I Want to!

  1. Hi. I tried to find your “About” page and couldn’t find the link until I scrolled down the front page. This is the closest I found to a “Menu.” Maybe it is my phone’s problem.

    I think it is great that you earned a Masters in Education. Congratulations! Look forward to more posts and info as to what is happening with your writing and career.

    Like

Leave a Reply

