Return to Grace

Hello Lovelies,

This week I have been busy working on the second chapter of József’s story, doing some research and making a pleasing amount of progress. This chapter is about József trying to figure out how he can apologise to Anna and return to her good graces. If you’re not sure who Anna is, she was introduced last week, you can read about her <<here>>.

I’m also in the process of debating whether I should change the story so it is told by a narrator or whether this story should be written from multiple POV. The reason I am considering these options is because the more I explore the character of Anna, the more I am beginning to realise that the story I have been referring to as József’s story, is in fact József and Anna’s story.

In the beginning, their stories are relatively their own, but as the story progresses their own individual stories become increasingly intertwined until it becomes one. I would preferably like the story to be written from multiple POV rather than narrated, as in my experience I am able to become better connected with characters and a story if it is written from the character’s POV. However, in saying this, writing from multiple POV is not an easy task and I guess it’s kind of hit-or-miss, it’s either done well or it’s terribly confusing for the reader.

So, this is my dilemma, do I continue writing it as József’s story and risk leaving out a lot of important pieces of the puzzle by not including Anna’s POV? Do I change the story so it is narrated, but run the risk of not developing a strong connection with the readers? Or do I have a go at including both József and Anna’s POV in the story and hope I am capable enough of a writer to pull it off?

In this instance, no matter how inexperienced of a writer I am, I think I need to go with what I feel is right and write from both József and Anna’s POV and hope that with careful editing that I am able to do the story justice.

I think I am making the right decision here, at least I hope I am and If hearing Anna’s voice in my head constantly telling me that she thinks of József’s behaviour is an indication of what choice I should be making, then I that’s as good of a sign as any. However, if it’s a sign that I’m actually going crazy, then I was crazy a long time ago!

So as I head off the talk with the voices in my head and hope I have made the right decision, I will leave you with a short (very first draft) excerpt from Chapter two.

Enjoy,

KK

As I opened the door to the shop, the little bell above the door rang, announcing my entrance. Apa poked his head out from the back room and seeing it was me who entered the shop and not a customer, sat back down to continue working.

“Is everything fine, József?” he called from the back room, the material he was holding in front of him slightly muffling his voice.

“Oh, er…” for a moment I thought he was referring to the incident with Anna, then realised he would have been asking after the delivery of Nagysárgos **(name)** new evening suit, at least that’s what I hoped. “Yes Apa, I did just as you told me.”

Apa narrowed his eyes at me, he always had an uncanny ability to know when something wasn’t quite right and combined with the hesitation of my answer to his question he obviously assumed it was something to do with Nagysárgos **(name)**.

“József, please tell me you didn’t say something inappropriate.”

I shook my head, “No, of course not Apa, I delivered the suit and said exactly what you told me to and then I left.”

His shoulders visibly relaxed then, but knew something still wasn’t right, “József, whatever is the matter then?”…

 

*Note: Apa means father in Hungarian and  Nagysárgos is a title given to someone of importance similar to My Lord, Your Honour etc. The reason it says **(name)** after it is because it’s so much of a first draft that I still haven’t decided on a name!

© Katherine A. Kovács and The Writer Within, (2013-2015). Unauthorised use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Katherine A. Kovács and The Writer Within with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Leave a Reply

