Please, Just Let Me Sleep!

Hello Lovelies,

My apologies for this week’s post being a day late, but I was quite busy starting and finishing a 3,000 word paper titled, “Differentiation and Personalised Learning in Primary Education –Theories, Rationale and Practices for the Promotion of Inclusive Teaching,” sounds riveting I know! The good news is I managed the get the paper written in record time and also was finished at a reasonable hour. The downside is I’m not quite sure if what I was writing about is quite enough for a passing grade (fingers crossed it is!) and also despite being finished at quite a reasonable hour (around 9:30 last night) I was actually unable to sleep until almost 2am because my characters that I have been neglecting for so long refused to let me sleep!

You see, since I made the conscious decision to become sidetracked from Lonely Hearts and decided that I needed to write József’s story if I am to truly understand Thomas and Rose’s story, I actually havent had a spare minute to even consider writing, well besides writing that riveting piece of academic writing that is! It seems though that last night, my characters had simply had enough of me neglecting them and the words of József’s story began to fill my mind, effectively preventing me from getting much sleep. At the moment József’s story isn’t 100% planned out, whilst I know roughly what his story is, I do not know the finer details of it yet. However, this does not stop József’s words filling my mind in fragments of his speech, thoughts and so on.

So as a reward, I have a little piece of what József insisted I write down last night before allowing me a few hours of sleep. Remember this is only just notes and fragments, a very rough drafted piece and is in no way finished or complete, so be kind.

Enjoy,

KK

My name is József István Szabó.

I know what and who I am and I know what and who I am not.

I am a simple man.

I am a humble tailor.

I am a man who loves and cares for his wife.

I am Hungarian.

I am a Jew.

I am not a soldier.

I am not a man of war.

I cannot and will not take a life.

It is not my place to choose who lives and who dies; I am not God.

This is why I must leave this place, my home and my people. 

This is why I must go far away, before I am forced to become someone I am not. 

© Katherine A. Kovacs and The Writer Within, (2013-2015). Unauthorised use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Katherine A. Kovacs and The Writer Within with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

2 thoughts on “Please, Just Let Me Sleep!

Leave a comment