The Inner Workings of a Vivid Imagination

Hello lovelies,

Well today is my birthday and believe it or not, I actually almost forgot that my birthday was coming up until a couple of days ago. I really must be getting old or perhaps it’s more likely due to the fact that I live in my own little world most of the time. I’m going to stick to the second reason and ignore the additional grey hairs and lines on my face I’ve been noticing lately.

You see, in case I haven’t told you this before, I’m a bit of a daydreamer. For as long as I can remember I often find myself drifting into a world of my own imagining. Even as a small child I would see something or hear about something and without even realising it, I would begin to spiral into a world of imagination, creating stories, journeys and scenarios in my mind in vivid detail. I would give so much attention to detail that I would actually go back over a scenario and ‘edit’ it in my mind. To the people who may have been around me, I guess it just looked I like I was daydreaming, but in my mind I was in a different world, travelling to far off places or perhaps exploring somewhere closer to home in a sort of ‘what if’ scenario.

“Logic will get you from A to Z; imagination will get you everywhere.”
Albert Einstein

I clearly remember many times throughout my childhood when I would just sit and create worlds and stories in my mind. At one stage I would even “plan” my dreams as I lay in bed before I went to sleep, in every intricate detail.

Now, I’m not sure if other people have ever experienced this, but to a certain extent, I can actually control my dreams. Especially when I’m in that stage between sleep and awake, I am able to take over the creation of my dreams. It’s like my subconscious begins the dreams and in my state of semi consciousness, I continue to create the dream, with the ability to plan, change and create. It’s like I am experiencing and seeing the story I am writing in my mind. The vividness of the dreams during this stage, engages all of my senses and it’s as though I can taste, smell, hear, see and feel everything. Sometimes the character in the dream is myself, sometimes I am someone else.

I remember when I was younger and I heard on the news that the police were searching for a serial killer -who later turned out to be Ivan Milat. However, at the innocent age I was at the time, I thought the police were looking for a “cereal” killer and the inner workings of my vivid imagination went into overdrive. I began to wonder why someone would dislike cereal so much they wanted it to be dead. However how would someone even “kill” cereal, after all cereal was not a living thing, that was something I knew for sure. As my imagination spiralled out of control, I began to concoct a story of someone who wanted to rid the world of all the greatest cereals, leaving behind a world where cereal did not exist. I decided that I definitely did not want to live in a world without Coco Pops and I hoped that the police would soon find the “cereal killer” before it was too late.

The reason I am sharing my history of daydreaming and dream writing with you all today, is to briefly describe the inner workings of my vivid imagination. I’ve always possessed a vivid imagination for as long as I can remember and since I have embraced the writer within, my hope is that I am able to portray the vividness of my imagination through my words in the characters, stories and worlds I am trying to create in my writing.

With the use of several notebooks and a smart phone, I always jot down the creations of my imagination. Even though I am trying to focus on one piece of writing at a time, I do not ignore the inner workings of my vivid imagination, nor do I enjoy it in the moment and move on. I always jot down any idea, snippet or whatever it might be just in case it comes in handy later on.

And by the way, everything in life is writable about if you have the outgoing guts to do it, and the imagination to improvise. The worst enemy to creativity is self-doubt.

Sylvia Plath

I guess my message is to not ignore the inner workings of a vivid imagination and not to chastise a child (or adult even) for daydreaming. A vivid imagination is a gift, a sort of treasure that is often lost or ignored as we grow older. A vivid imagination should be explored to its full extent and if you have the courage and the guts to do so, shared with the world.

Enjoy,

KK

© Katherine A. Kovacs and The Writer Within, (2013-2015). Unauthorised use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Katherine A. Kovacs and The Writer Within with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

2 thoughts on “The Inner Workings of a Vivid Imagination

Leave a Reply

