Sunshine on a Cloudy Day

Hello Lovelies,

My recent posts have been largely full of unorganised incoherent ramblings, poorly written and probably poorly edited as well and I am sorry for that, but I’m not going to delete them. The posts over the last few weeks have reflected what is going in my mind lately- many disorganised, confused and sometimes incoherent thoughts.

I have finally finished another semester of uni though and hopefully that will help me to get my focus back and get on with my writing, as I am now sadly two months behind my self-imposed word-count quota.

In my state of disorganised thoughts, I’ve been doing a lot of reflecting on writing, on life and whatever else pops into my mind.

I came across this quote, it’s one I have read before but one that got me thinking a little more clearly about my writing again:

“Write the kind of story you would like to read. People will give you all sorts of advice about writing but if you are not writing something you like, no one else will like it either.” – Meg Cabot

I began writing Lonely Hearts, because as Thomas and Rose’s story began to play out in my mind, I came to realise it was something I actually wanted to read for myself. As I told a couple of close friends and family about Thomas and Rose’s story, it was one that they marvelled at the way it sounded like an actual synopsis of published book and they actually wanted to read it as well. Thomas and Rose’s story is still one that I would like to read and I am determined to finish writing the first draft this year. With uni semester not returning until the end of July, I’m hoping to get my head back in the game and get into writing again.

I’ve also been reflecting a lot about things in general lately, not just about writing. You know when you have one of those days when nothing seems to go right and you can’t wait for the next day to begin? Well I’ve been having a few of those lately and yesterday when trying to think of a topic for today’s blog post, I wrote down a few thoughts.

This is what I came up with:

As the sun set on another day, I wondered what tomorrow would bring. The more I pondered over this thought, the more I was inclined to just take it as it comes.The good, the bad and the in between, to take in life one moment at a time.

I told myself though, no matter what tomorrow or the next day brings, I would find something good in each of the days. Whether it be some time to write or do something little for myself or the unconditional love from my children. There is something positive in every day, some days the positive is obvious other days you have to look a little bit harder to find sunshine on a cloudy day, but it’s there, trust me.

Photo courtesy Flickr CC user -Lets Go Out Bournemouth and Poole
Photo courtesy Flickr CC user -Lets Go Out Bournemouth and Poole

So, my aim for this week is to get my head back in the game and get some writing done, hopefully I’ll have a little something to share with you all in next week’s post. Another aim is to find the positive in each and every day. I wonder, what today’s sunshine will be… So far I can think of a few things and it’s still only morning!

To finish off here’s a song that always makes me feel good and was the inspiration for the title of this week’s post.

Video courtesy of YouTube, standard YouTube license applies, copyright belongs to original artists, writer etc

Enjoy,

KK

© Katherine A. Kovacs and The Writer Within, (2013-2015). Unauthorised use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Katherine A. Kovacs and The Writer Within with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

5 thoughts on “Sunshine on a Cloudy Day

Leave a Reply

