I Am Who I Am

Hello Lovelies,

This week I’ve been procrastinating, but not from writing Lonely Hearts, I totally nailed that this month! Instead, it’s been uni work I’m procrastinating from. The problem is though, it was my choice to return to university and pursue a postgraduate degree in Education.

At the time I chose to pursue a post-grad degree, I was trying to find a direction for myself. When I decided to apply for further study, I was someone’s mother, someone’s wife, someone’s teacher, but I wasn’t sure who I was for me, if that makes sense. So in 2012 I began studying part-time and online to be a Master (of Education)- see what I did there? It seemed like a good idea at the time, but I must admit that I’m a little over it now. However, now that I’ve started, I’m not quitting because I want the pretty certificate, darn it! Plus, I only have two units to go.

So I’m a mother of three young children, who works part-time, studies part-time and writes and explore my creative side whenever I can find a spare moment. Although in reality, I don’t really a spare moment as I’m sure there are many things I am supposed to be doing, like right now I should be writing an assignment that’s due tomorrow.

One of my twitter followers, @ZaraJacobs who also happens to be a writer, commented that they don’t know how I find the time to write, study and everything else that is my life. The truth is, I have no idea how I actually get time for any writing. I don’t have Hermione’s time turner unfortunately, but somehow I find time to write, study, mother and everything else.

Furthermore, I finally feel as though I am becoming more and more myself. I’m no longer pretending, no longer being someone I’m not, in order to conform to some societal norm.

I am who I am

I am a mother, wife, teacher and I am a WRITER!

“Be yourself; everyone else is already taken.”
Oscar Wilde

That’s right! I AM A WRITER and I don’t care who knows it!

“Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don’t matter, and those who matter don’t mind.”
Bernard M. Baruch

Writing and creating is a big part of who I am and since embracing the writer within, I am getting to know the real me and feeling more like myself. I know I still have a long way to go on this journey, but I intend to cherish every moment of it and I look forward to each and every experience along the way.

Unfortunately though, I need to now finish something that I started and I have a five minute critical reflection of the nature of and approach to wellbeing in a school I need to write and record and upload by 5pm tomorrow. So, nothing like a little pressure and time constraint in order to get things done.

Just remember, don’t be afraid to be true to yourself.

I am who I am and I am a WRITER!

Enjoy,

KK

© Katherine A. Kovacs and The Writer Within, (2013-2015). Unauthorised use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Katherine A. Kovacs and The Writer Within with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

5 thoughts on “I Am Who I Am

  1. I love the moment when you know who you are and what you want and you just need to scream it to the sky! Lovely post. I’m so happy for you. I now understand the title of your site:) And, I’m happy you’re staying on track with your degree. You can’t go wrong in furthering your education. Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. At what point in the writing career are we allowed to decree that were writers? I’ve always wanted to say it about myself but I somehow feel like it’s something I need to earn? I don’t know…

    Like

    1. I understand your trepidation. The way I see it, if we enjoy writing then we are writers. I do not call myself an author, but a writer, the reason for this is that I see an author as someone who has published works, but a writer is someone who writes for enjoyment- a writer may become an author though.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

