The Real World

Hello Lovelies,

This week has been a bit of a crazy one. It’s probably because I’m now older and (hopefully) wiser, but the world is a very different place to what I thought it was when I finished high school. Heck, it’s even different to what I thought when I finished university almost ten years ago.

In my final years of high school, I had dreams of becoming an Early Childhood teacher and opening my own preschool one day, something of which I’m glad never eventuated. Instead I ended up becoming a primary school teacher, but even though I do enjoy teaching I am beginning to wonder what if I had taken a different path. What if I had gone down the writing path sooner? Where would I be now?

I know it is rare for writers to be able to make a sustainable living off of their work, but it’s not impossible. It makes me wonder that if I had chosen that path ten years ago, would things be different?

I’m not regretting my past choices, this is not what I am saying. I still enjoy being a teacher, most of the time anyway. I’m just in a ‘what if’ mood and wonder how my life would be different if I had chosen to follow a different path.

On another topic, I’ve had a pretty successful month in writing my first draft of Lonely Hearts and I was able to reach this month’s self-imposed word count goal! Not sure how the next month will go though, because uni semester has now started back. I only have two units left to complete to finish my masters degree! I’m sure I’ll end up using my writing to procrastinate from my assignments though, so perhaps I will end up with another successful month of writing.

Here’s a little something I’ve been working on while I’ve been having little breaks from writing Lonely Hearts. 

Enjoy,

KK

The Real World

Not what I expected

Not what it seems

The real world

Is not like my dreams

My dreams and aspirations

To achieve and to chase

But the real world

Is such a different place

Perhaps I was just young

Perhaps I was foolish

To think that the real world

Would be just what I wish

So many ideas

So many plans

The real world though

Is not in the palm of one’s hands

Everything I’ve learnt

Everything I teach

But in the real world

It all seems just out of your reach

To write is what I want

To write is what I need

Forget the real world

I just long to be freed

© Katherine A. Kovacs and The Writer Within, (2013-2015). Unauthorised use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Katherine A. Kovacs and The Writer Within with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

6 thoughts on “The Real World

  1. The beauty in a rose the tranquility on a sleeping childs face, hear lies the real world the other one is not real signed an optimist xxxxxxxxxxx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You can’t move forward successfully when you’re looking backwards! I’ve tried. You are where you’re supposed to be! Now, what you do with the future is up to you. Make it something you’re passionate about, otherwise you’ll be having another discussion with yourself about ten more years from now:)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

