Music for the Moment

WP_20150222_09_50_50_Pro

Hello Lovelies,

This week I have been researching and adding more detail to the scenes of Thomas and Rose’s first date, including the music they would listen and dance to. I wanted to consider every aspect f their evening and then decide what details needed to be included in order to set the scene for the audience.

At the end of dinner, a solo pianist begins to play a classical piece of music that Rose recognises as Liszt’s Liebesträume. The reason why Rose recognises this particular piece of music in because Liszt is one of József’s favourite composers and in case you weren’t aware Liszt was actually Hungarian. 

I get the feeling that Thomas planned for the pianist to play this particular piece for several reasons, firstly he had hoped that she would be familiar with it and secondly because the title of the piece, Liebesträume, means Love Dream or Dreams of Love and for both of them, this moment they share seems so much like a dream. Since the death of his parents, Thomas has longed and dreamed of finding someone to love and who would love him unconditionally in return and he believes that Rose might be the woman he is destined to fall in love with. As they sit enjoying the music, Thomas asks Rose to dance with him. Liebesträume is not really a piece to dance to, unless perhaps as a contemporary form of dance and Rose’s surprise and reluctance causes him to speak with the pianist, who then begins to play a piano arrangement of the song “Blue Moon” made popular the year before by MGM studios in the movie Manhattan Melodrama. 

Don’t tell my husband, but I think I am falling in love with Thomas myself! I feel the butterflies Rose does with each look, each touch, each smile. As they dance, he quietly sings the lyrics of “Blue Moon” to her and she has never felt closer to anyone before than she has in this intimate moment they share. I only hope that my writing is able to put my readers in Rose’s shoes, feeling each and every moment they share.

Here is an excerpt of that particular scene for you to enjoy remember it is a first draft and I still have a lot of work to do on it.

Enjoy,

KK

As we finished our final course, the sounds of classical music filled the room. I hadn’t noticed it earlier, but in the far side of the dining room, a black piano sat. As the man skilfully glided his fingers across the keys, I was drawn in by the beautiful music. I recognised the piece as Liebesträume by Liszt, as it was one of József’s favourite pieces that he listened to often.

“I love this piece, it’s József’s favourite.”

Thomas stood and reached for my hand, “Well then, Miss Greene, may I have this dance?”

I looked at him in surprise, “Dance to this?”

He cocked his head to the side, considering the question, “Hmmm, you’re right, I’m sure we can find something better to dance to.” With that he walked over to the pianist, tapped in on the shoulder and whispered something to him. The man smiled and nodded and Thomas walked back towards me with a boyish grin curving his lips, “Now, Miss Greene, may I have this dance?”

With that, the pianist began playing a modern piece that seemed very familiar but I could not place where I had heard the tune before. Accepting Thomas’ hand, we moved over to an open space that would serve as a dance floor, placing one hand in mine and the other at the small of my back, he began to lead me effortlessly around our makeshift dance floor. As the pianist moved from an long introduction to the somewhat familiar song, to the body of it, Thomas held me closer and began singing and I immediately recognised the song as “Blue Moon.” This man could sing, his voice was smooth and I got the distinct feeling he has asked the pianist to play this particular song for a reason, like the words had meaning for him. I began to wonder what his life was really like, were there people who cared for him, like József cared for me?

© Katherine A. Kovacs and The Writer Within, (2013-2015). Unauthorised use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Katherine A. Kovacs and The Writer Within with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

3 thoughts on “Music for the Moment

  1. I really like how you associated music with your writing. I also assign specific songs to certain scenes or themes to what I am writing, and am even considering including a list of suggested songs that helped me write my story at the end of the novel I’m working on. Being a lover of music, I wish writers did this more often. I would love to have a list of songs suggested for every book I read, it really gives a story depth and a dynamic means of understanding it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

