Some People Just Don’t Get It

Hello Lovelies,

This week has been another amazing one! Unfortunately I’m about 1000 words shy of my word count goal for the month of January and I’m sure those who know my tendency to procrastinate will be surprised that I even got that far!  Even though I didn’t reach my word count goal for the month, I have made some great progress with Lonely Hearts during January. Last week I posted about my progress in the development of two new characters, that you can read about here if you missed it.

This week I’ve had three quite amazing things happen. Firstly, I have been having some difficulty in finding information on a particular location I wanted to use in Lonely Hearts. Unfortunately the particular building no longer exists and even though it was once a symbol of prestige, luxury and elegance in Sydney that was recognised worldwide, there is very little information available which describes its appearance. Despite this lack of available information, I was determined to use the building as a location as it was exactly the type of location I was needing for the particular scene. After searching far and wide (on the internet) I came across a non-fiction book on a library database that was completely devoted to the history of the building I was researching! Imagine my excitement that after months of searching and finding no more than a paragraph of information, to then come across a book with 136 pages completely devoted to the location! Then came a bit of a hurdle though, the library it was located in was located about an hour drive from me and was in the reference section, so I would not even be able to take it out on loan. So after copying down the publication details of the book, I actually found a copy for sale on ebay for less than what it would have cost me in fuel to drive to the library! The book should be arriving on Tuesday in the post, I cannot contain my excitement, even my husband was subjected to about 40 minutes of me excitedly telling him what I had found and precisely why it was so important that I get this book. I also get the feeling that he was actually listening while I excitedly told him how amazing it was, that after months of searching, I discovered something that I felt would help take the location in the novel off of the page and into the minds of my readers, helping them to picture the scene in exact detail.

Another amazing thing that has happened this week is the overwhelming support and amazing connections I am making through Twitter. I joined Twitter just over a week ago, after wanting to follow one of the independent authors I came across in my reading – Shelly Thacker whose work I posted about a couple of weeks ago. Since then I have been completely overwhelmed and amazed at the amount of followers I have (189 and counting!). Many of my followers are fellow writers and published authors who have even offered words of encouragement as I continue my journey to embrace the writer within and to write my first novel. Hopefully no one is out to pinch my ideas though! What I am beginning to discover is that when one enters the world of writing, they are also entering a new community. It is amazing at how quickly you begin to enter this community with the help of the internet. We really are living in a technological age, where the internet is helping us to connect with people all around the world in an instant! I’m even getting more views on this little blog of mine thanks to Twitter!

So you might be wondering how the title of this week’s post ties in with these amazing experiences I’ve had this past week. One reason it has taken me so long to embrace the writer within, is because people have never really understood my excitement when I talk about my creative pursuits. Of course my family and friends that have known about my creative streak have always supported me, but they don’t really get it. They don’t really understand the amazing feeling of creating another world, of creating characters that sometimes seem more real than the people around you or the feeling of excitement and wonder as you follow those characters on their journey and help to tell their story. My family and friends support me, encourage me and try to listen as I excitedly tell them about the amazing things that are happening, but they don’t really get it. I do not hold this against them, nor does this make me angry or upset, it’s just how it is – Some people just don’t get it, they don’t understand what it’s like to feel an inextricable pull inside of you telling you to write, to create, to explore a world of creativity, a world of literature and writing.

Long before I began this blog, I always felt the need to create, my mind was constantly exploring and creating with no one really to share it with. Even though the important people in my life have appreciated my creativity and have supported and encouraged me, they still don’t fully understand what it’s like to experience the need to create. I think this is why I feel so amazed at the support I have received through my blog, through social media and most recently through Twitter. People that I have never met, get it. They understand the need to create, they understand the inextricable pull telling you to write, create and explore and they let me know that I am not alone. There is a big difference between appreciating creativity and writing and experiencing and understanding the need to create and write. Those who enjoy devouring book after book do not necessarily understand the need and the excitement that comes from creating a world, creating characters and telling their story.

In saying that, I still very much appreciate the support from my family and friends and the support of my followers and subscribers. Without this support, I would still be daydreaming about characters and scenes, writing notes in my many notebooks without really doing anything about it. I’m finally taking myself seriously with a goal in sight, it will be a long time coming, but it’s all getting very exciting and I know I will get  there eventually.

Finally, welcome to my newest subscriber, my lovely Grandmother (who you might remember I’ve mentioned in a couple of previous posts here and here), who has successfully subscribed via email to this humble little blog of mine.

So with thanks and gratitude, I leave you with an excerpt from Lonely Hearts, again it’s just a first draft and in the words of Ernest Hemingway,

The first draft of anything is shit.

Don’t forget to subscribe so you never miss a post and you can find me on facebook or on Twitter @WriterWithin_KK.

Enjoy,

KK

“So, are you ready to be dazzled?” The sound of Thomas’ voice interrupted my thoughts… “Thomas, I think I’ve already been dazzled by your elaborate plans. The dress, the shoes, the jewellery, my own personal stylist for the afternoon…” I waved my hand gesturing at the excessive amount of ‘dazzle’ that he had already bestowed upon me. I always knew the evening would be more than just a lovely dinner, with Thomas simply being the man he was, but so far this evening had already gone way beyond my expectations. Even though the feeling was foreign I couldn’t help enjoying this feeling of being just a little bit spoilt, well ok… a lot spoilt. “Rosie, I hope you’re not thinking that it’s all too much, those are just things. I was the one that requested your company for the evening, I would really like for us to get to know each other a little better.” He tucked a loose strand of my honey blonde waves behind my ear as we sat facing each other in his fancy limousine. “I would like that too Thomas, I guess I’m just not used to such extravagance.” He leaned his head to the side, contemplating what I had said, “Hmmm, well I guess that may be so.” Then that lop-sided smiled curved his lips again, “I better warn you then, tonight Rosie, will be a night that will make dazzling extravagance look like brunch with great-aunt Bessie.”

© Katherine A. Kovacs and The Writer Within, (2013-2015). Unauthorised use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Katherine A. Kovacs and The Writer Within with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

7 thoughts on “Some People Just Don’t Get It

  1. First drafts are rough. I’m revising my 135,000 word novel now and can tell you that some of the writing in my first draft is trash. Your writing above is really good for a first draft. Don’t stress reaching your word limits each week, life happens. I have a goal of 500 words per day. I can usually get over that count easily, and when I do, I feel more accomplished. You’re doing well, just keep grinding!

    Like

  2. Congratulations on finding the book you needed to help your readers get a visual of the location you use in your novel. And congrats on your success on Twitter. You are so blessed to have a husband and a loving family that support your work. My wife and two children are my biggest fans, for which I am eternally grateful.

    The creative bug, when it bites, it bites hard. As you know, writers are powerless under its spell. When the story comes, we obey and write. I think your novel “Lonely Hearts,” sounds wonderful and the excerpt reads very well. I wish you well on your journey to becoming the author you want to be.

    Like

    1. Thank you for the very kind words Paul. You’re right about that creative bug, it certainly does bite hard! I’m feeling so fortunate to be connecting with so many like minded writers, author and creative folk. What an amazing time we live in where fellow writers can connect with the click of a mouse! Best wishes, Kath

      Like

Leave a Reply

