The Dark Side….of Editing

“It is perfectly okay to write garbage–as long as you edit brilliantly.”
― C.J. Cherryh

Hello Lovelies,

The time has come, the time to explore the dark side. I’m not talking about the dark side of my characters – that’s already well on its way, but the other dark side, the dark side of editing. I’m the first to admit that I’m not an expert when it comes to grammar, but I’d like to think that my grasp of the English language isn’t too bad. Something that is rather frustrating though is the fact that I can usually quite easily spot a typo or error in someone else’s writing, but I often miss the most obvious of errors in my own. My excuse, of course, is that I know what it is supposed to say so even though the actual text on the page is wrong, my brain is on auto-correct and reads it the way it’s supposed to be. This is why I’ve decided to recruit myself a couple of Beta Readers, people to read and critique my writing as I go and spot those pesky typos and errors and the parts when the story simply makes no bloody sense at all!

This is a big step for me something different to posting excerpts on this here little blog, it’s definitely scarier and sort of soul exposing. I mean, I’m actually asking someone to take a look at my writing and tell me their honest opinion, they need to tell me if it’s crap, if it doesn’t make sense and ask me what the heck I was thinking when I wrote it. I’ll be stepping out of my little world, where I take the hits on my blog and ‘likes’ on my Facebook page as little boosts to my ego, I’m now giving someone the opportunity to tell me that my writing is pretty much rubbish. Whilst I admit the possibility of telling me I’m a crap writer is also available through commenting on posts and on Facebook, it’s a little more daunting when you’re actually asking for it.

It’s an important step to take though, as scary and soul-exposing as it may be, it’s a step in the right direction and a step away from procrastinating. I think if I’ve promised someone, besides myself, another chapter then I am more likely to actually get it done without procrastinating.

Below is an excerpt where Rose is wondering if she will hear from Thomas after his dinner proposal, a messenger boy delivers an envelope and she is surprised and intrigued by what it contains.

So here we go #LonelyHearts2015, let’s get serious about writing!

Enjoy,

KK

Picture from Flickr CC user Snow Kitty
Picture from Flickr CC user Snow Kitty

I glanced at the envelope not knowing if I wanted to open it, perhaps it was an apology from Thomas, telling me he was unable to follow through on our dinner plans. Perhaps it was the opposite, detailing the plans. I wasn’t which option I preferred, I knew that calling off dinner would be a smarter and easier option, but I couldn’t deny the disappointment I would feel if that were the case. No matter how bad of an idea it was for something to happen between Thomas and I, the thought of nothing ever happening scared me more. Well, there’s only one way to find out, I had to open the envelope. As I held it in my hand, I felt something weighted inside of it, I slowly opened the envelope and tipped its content onto the front counter. Out of it slid a gorgeous and obviously expensive diamond and emerald necklace. As I held it up the sun caught and shone rays of light at every angle, it reminded me of him. The diamonds were the light that shone from within him despite the darkness and the emeralds, the green of his eyes. Placing it carefully on the countertop I picked up the card that had come from the envelope. Beautifully formed handwriting is on the small card, the message short and almost cryptic;

I saw this and it reminded me of you. Wear it tonight.

            

                                                                                                         -T.H.

© Katherine A. Kovacs and The Writer Within, (2013-2015). Unauthorised use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Katherine A. Kovacs and The Writer Within with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Leave a Reply

