Perfect Imperfection

Hello lovelies,

Over the past week I’ve been thinking a lot about my main characters and their appearances, I wanted to pinpoint their imperfections, the things that make them real, unique and perfectly imperfect. I have posted previously about the importance of creating realistic characters that your audience can relate to. I believe it is important to acknowledge not everyone is Hollywood Perfection in their appearance and it is unrealistic and unfair to encourage this perception of perfect appearance and beauty, therefore this is something I am striving towards in the development of my characters.

This week I would like to focus on Thomas, after all I am seeing him through Rose’s eyes, so it makes sense that I take a closer look at his appearance.

When Rose sees Thomas for the first time, he is not at all what she had expected, even though she knew nothing about him except he was a wealthy investor. Rose had imagined someone similar to József’s age, an older, but distinguished man, with a slim build and slightly grey hair. Instead she finds herself looking at a man who is built more like a labourer or dock worker than a wealthy investor. Before he turns to face her she notices that he is tall with broad shoulders and a muscular frame but when he turns to her she is shocked by his youthful appearance. Of course Rose finds Thomas physically attractive, but it is more than just his appearance that draws her to him. As she studies his appearance more closely, she notices that it is not perfect, he has a small scar above his right eye and a slightly crooked nose, his physical appearance is not perfect, but to Rose he is perfectly imperfect.

Here is a brief excerpt I have been working on, explaining Thomas’ appearance through Rose’s eyes, this is still a draft so be kind!

Enjoy,

KK

“I hadn’t noticed it at first, I was too distracted by his appearance and my now apparent misconception of him, but there was something dark about Thomas, something dangerous I just couldn’t put my finger on. I knew it was there though, it was hinted in his voice, like an unspoken warning to stay away from him and it was in the way he moved, with power and grace, like an animal stalking its prey. Darkness was something I knew all too well and I could spot it easily in others. Thomas’ darkness was different from my own though, which caused me to cower and to be afraid, but I sensed that his darkness was the thing that drove him, gave him strength in spite of his past, whatever that might be.

As I prepared the tea for József and Thomas, I caught myself staring at him through the partially open door, nearly overfilling the cup. He must have heard my faint curse, glancing towards me so slightly it was nearly undetectable. I noticed a small scar above his right eye and his nose was slightly crooked. Was this his darkness, was he a brawler, exerting his physical power over others for his own gratification? Surely a man of his social standing would not associate himself with such barbaric activities. Yet how can I be sure, by my own admission I know nothing about this man, yet I am strangely drawn to him, I imagine reaching my hand up to the side of his face and touching that small scar as he leans his cheek into my palm, I shake my head banishing the image from my mind. Listen to yourself Rosie! You barely know this man and you’re having unsavoury fantasies about him! Fantasize all you want, but remember, you are from different worlds; you could never be together, besides he probably thinks you’re simple after this morning’s performance. I nod in silent agreement with my subconscious, even though I barely know this man, I know that we inhabit two very different worlds.”

© Katherine A. Kovacs and The Writer Within, (2013-2015). Unauthorised use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Katherine A. Kovacs and The Writer Within with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Leave a Reply

