Not What You’d Expect

Hello Lovelies,

Well, things have been pretty crazy this last week, just one crappy thing after another, not exactly what I was expecting for the first week back after school holidays. But, you know what they say, expect the unexpected! So with all that’s been going on I haven’t had much time for writing this week, but I did get an extension on my last assessment for the uni semester so I can spend some more time procrastinating!

I’ve only got a short post for you today and I’ve quickly scribbled down the rest of chapter one and reached the point were Rose meets Thomas for the first time. Prior to this meeting, Rose has never laid eyes on Thomas and doesn’t know much about him except that his a wealthy entrepreneur, who is of a high social class. Rose is expecting a older man, perhaps with slightly gray hair, lean and well-dressed. The only thing she has right though is well-dressed and the man who is the handsome and youthful Thomas Heath, catches her off-guard turning her into a mumbling idiot. The excerpt I have shared with you today is a small piece of what I’ve written this afternoon, it’s very raw and unedited so please forgive any typos and grammatical errors.

So, never presume and expect the unexpected!

Enjoy,

KK

As Jószef paces in his small office, I make myself busy double-checking that everything was prepared for the meeting. Over the last few weeks I have made summaries of our accounts and expenditure, as I’m sure as an investor Mr. Heath would be interested in that type of information, I have samples of the latest clothing line Jószef has been working on and I’ve set out the two best teacups and saucers we have on a silver tray with a fresh pot on tea. Meanwhile, Jószef is still pacing, I’ve never seen him this anxious, even when he thought he was too late to save me. I quickly push the last thought out of my mind, this is not the time to be reminded of such dark times. I glance at the time, we still have a few minutes before Mr Heath is due to arrive,  just enough time to pop into Jószef’s office and reassure him –again. As I open the door to the small office Jószef pauses mid-step, smiling when he sees me, but his brow is still creased, revealing his nervousness. “Jószef, everything is prepared, just be yourself and Mr. Heath is bound to see what a wonderful investment opportunity you have for him.” I hug him gently, “Apa, don’t worry, you’ll do fine.” His faced softens as he looks at me with a father’s love, the way he always does when I call him Apa. Just then, the bell on the shop-front door rings, heralding the likely arrival of Mr Heath, I give Jószef one last hug for luck, “Don’t worry, I’ll go greet Mr Heath and you take a moment to gather yourself.” Jószef nods, taking a deep breath to calm his nerves as I smooth my dress and head out into the shop to greet Mr. Heath.

I walk through the small doorway that leads from the back office into the small shop. I have never seen Thomas Heath before, but the man gazing out the window is undoubtedly him, judging by the obvious expense paid for the fine navy suit he is wearing. Aside from the clothes, he is not what I expected at all, he’s tall, with broad muscular shoulders, his build seems more likened to some sort of labourer than a man of money and class. My heart begins to race at the sight of this man, it’s just nerves, I tell myself, but as I walk into the room, the atmosphere changes and as though he senses me, he turns and faces me.

Oh my, I pause mid-stride, nearly stumbling as I am stunned by the strong, handsome, youthful looking man that faces me. He couldn’t be much older than me, “I’m Thomas Heath and I believe Mr. Szabó is expecting me.” Offering his hand, I shake it without thinking, I wasn’t expecting him to be so young, I’m completely caught off guard, “And who do I have the pleasure of shaking hands with?” As I stare into his jade green eyes I realise I am still shaking Mr. Heath’s hand,  I quickly let go, hoping he doesn’t notice I blush in obvious embarrassment, say something Rosie, he’s going to think you’re simple, “Oh, I’m Rosie, um Rose, Rose Greene. I’m Jószef’s, I mean, Mr. Szabó’s assistant.” A hint of a smile touches his lips, is he laughing at me? I’d laugh at you, you mumbling fool, my inner thoughts snap me back to the now. “Well I’m very pleased to meet you Rosie um Rose Rose Greene, I’m always pleased to meet such beautiful woman.”  Ok now I’m positive he’s laughing at me, surely I wouldn’t be the first person to be caught off-guard by his obvious youth, I am equally caught off-guard by his compliment, is he always so forward? “So, Miss Greene, is Mr Szabó ready for our meeting?”

“Yes, right this way Mr Heath and please call me Rose.”

“Well in that case Rose, please, call me Thomas.” I offer him a polite smile as I lead him into Jószef’s small office, trying to hide the small thrill I feel at the sound of him saying my name.

© Katherine A. Kovacs and The Writer Within, (2013-2015). Unauthorised use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Katherine A. Kovacs and The Writer Within with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Leave a Reply

