Procrastinating… Again

Hello Lovelies,

Well it’s that time of semester again, when I have another assignment due. Yet, as usual I am finding every reason to avoid it, even though it is due tomorrow, but needs to be uploaded tonight because I’ll be at work tomorrow. So despite these facts, here I am writing this week’s post in order to procrastinate just a little bit longer.

I started this post-graduate degree in 2012, usually it is a one-year full-time course, but with work and having a young family I have been doing just one unit per semester. Sometimes I wish I had embraced the writer within sooner, then perhaps I wouldn’t have started this degree. At times I enjoy the mental stimulation from the units I am doing, other times I just want it to be over and done with (mostly when assignments are due). I suppose most of you are wondering why I don’t just quit, it’s not like getting a post-grad degree is compulsory, it’s something I chose to do. The thing is, I’ve started something and I have to finish it, no matter how long it takes (FYI I only have two units left after this semester!). I’ve worked too hard to get this far and I can’t just quit now, I want that certificate, I want something to show for all my hard work. Even if that sounds a little materialistic it’s true.

But what about writing? If I keep working hard, will I ever have something to show for it? It’s highly probably that I won’t, but with writing it’s different. I think the late Maya Angelou said it best when she said,

There is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you.

Maya Angelou

Writing is a reward in itself, to be able to  create characters and tell their story is its own reward. If people enjoy reading these stories, then that is yet another reward, but not one that is necessary in order for me to even begin to write in the first place.

So as I head off to start and finish (I hope my lecturer does come across this Blog) my assignment, I leave you with this;

Writing is its own reward, if you are writing to gain fame and fortune, then perhaps you need to find another path to that kind of glory.

-KK

© Katherine A. Kovacs and The Writer Within, (2013-2015). Unauthorised use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Katherine A. Kovacs and The Writer Within with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

2 thoughts on “Procrastinating… Again

Leave a Reply

