Flaws and All

Hello Lovelies,
This past week I’ve been doing a lot more reading than writing, but as Stephen King says, “If you don’t have time to read, you don’t have the time (or the tools) to write. Simple as that. ” Therefore I insist that the three books I’ve finished in a week were for research purposes and not for my own love of reading.
I am not ashamed to admit that the three books I finished were the first three parts of the Georgian Series by Sylvia Day. Whilst this series is considered Erotic Romance, Day’s writing style is levels above the mostly trashy romance fiction that is out there and in my opinion, definitely levels above the writing produced by E.L James, author of the Fifty Shades Trilogy. What I enjoy about Day’s writing is not the “naughty bits”, but her ability to tell the story of her characters with such feeling and attention to detail. Her stories are full of “cliff hanger” moments that draw you in and make you want to turn the page as quickly as possible to discover what happens next.
Something I also enjoy in Day’s writing style (and other contemporary fiction authors) is their ability to create characters that have “flaws”, making the character less than perfect and therefore more relatable for the reader. The main female character is not a woman of perfection, with the perfect appearance and personality; the female characters have curves, personality quirks and are more real than the leading ladies you see in many of the latest Hollywood flicks.
Exploring such “flaws” in your characters is something important to consider. Whether they are physical “flaws” or they are emotional or psychological, I think it is important to create characters that are less than perfect. Not only will this allow for more depth to be added in your story, but it will also allow for the reader to be able to relate to the characters you have created.
Real people have flaws and in the real world people fall in love, flaws and all. Therefore in order to create believable characters, I don’t think they can be perfect in every single way. This is something I am keeping in the front of my mind as I further explore my main characters. Not only am I exploring their personality, their likes and dislikes, I also need to explore their flaws and the ways in which these imperfections can add depth to the story they are telling me to write.
So remember, if we love flaws and all, we also need to write flaws and all.
Or something like that….
Enjoy your week,
KK

© Katherine A. Kovacs and The Writer Within, (2013-2015). Unauthorised use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Katherine A. Kovacs and The Writer Within with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

2 thoughts on “Flaws and All

Leave a Reply

