A Place to Call My Own

Hello Lovelies,

This week I’ve been busy getting the house looking presentable for a visit from the Mother-In-Law. It’s not your typical MIL visit that people usually dread, this is different, you see, my MIL lives overseas and the last time she was able to visit was more than five years ago for my eldest child’s first birthday. She is probably the nicest MIL anyone could wish for, so I’m actually looking forward to her visit, also she is a terrific cook, so that’s an added bonus!

Another positive outcome of her visit is that I was forced to tackle the room that is supposed to be an office, but has had boxes stuffed inside from every time I changed moved classrooms and changed schools. So now I have a little place to call my own where I can write. There’s not much in the room just a laptop, some notebooks and an ever growing collection of books in the overflowing bookshelf, but it’s my own little creative space and I think I’m going to enjoy it.

“If you want to be a writer, you must do two things above all others: read a lot and write a lot” -Stephen King

It’s going to take me a little while to get used to this new creative space. It feels strange to sit here typing this week’s post and not breaking my back leaning over a laptop on the lounge while the kids run around me, but I think I am going to enjoy my own creative space.

My own little writing space.
My own little writing space. Copyright of Katherine A. Kovacs/The Writer Within

If you write, where do you write? Is it in the serenity of your garden in the afternoon sun? Or perhaps it’s in a quiet space with just a simple writing desk and a notebook or laptop that allows the words to flow? Maybe you work best in the hustle and bustle of your local coffee shop or in bed in the hours before sunrise. However you choose to write, you need to find what’s best for you, it doesn’t matter if your creative space is a little room in your house with a desk and little more or if your creative space is simply anywhere you can bring your laptop and your creative mind.

Now that I finally have a place to call my own it would be nice if the WiFi would work as well.

Enjoy your week,

KK

© Katherine A. Kovacs and The Writer Within, (2013-2015). Unauthorised use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Katherine A. Kovacs and The Writer Within with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Leave a Reply

