Audience Appreciation

Image

Image Copyright Katherine A. Kovacs/The Writer Within

Hello Lovelies,

First of all, if you live in my part of the world I’d like to wish all the mothers, mothers-to-be and mother figures a wonderful and happy Mother’s Day. I’d like to say put your feet up and let your loved ones spoil you, but as a mother to three young children myself, I know that isn’t necessarily going to happen, just enjoy the day whatever you might be doing.

The topic for this week’s post came about when I was teaching a group of year 5 students about the importance of considering your intended audience when writing. During this lesson we were focusing on persuasive writing and the purpose of persuading your audience to share the same viewpoint as yourself, the writer. I told them to consider if their writing is intended for a group of their peers, for adults or for a wider audience and to consider the implications that may have to their writing style and the formation of their arguments. While the students were busily planning their writing, I thought back on what I had just said to them and realised that at this point in my writing journey I am not practicing what I preach.

You see, at this stage in my journey I still have the freedom of writing for my own pleasure. In those brief moments I get (as a working mother of three) to sit down and to do some writing, I am still writing for me. My characters tell me the story and I am the intended audience, although I am the one forming the words, sentences, paragraphs, pages and chapters, the story being told is still their own and I am their captivated audience.

I often share pieces of my writing on this blog and it seems that I am beginning to build an audience for my writing. Although I am extremely touched and humbled that others enjoy by writing, I still possess the freedom of writing for myself, without the restrictions of an intended audience. I know that when writing it is important to consider your audience and contemplate on what would intrigue and captivate your intended audience, but at this stage I am the intended audience and if other people want to join my audience of one, then that’s great too.

What I am writing here might sound selfish and as if I am saying that it’s all about me and I don’t care what others think. Of course I care; I love the warm fuzzy feeling I get when I receive an email notification from WordPress.com or The Writer Within, telling me that I have another follower or that someone liked by latest post. It is amazing that something that started for me, as a way of documenting my journey towards embracing the writer within, has appealed to an audience greater than one. The thought that people around the world are reading and enjoying something written by a woman who is just a wife, mother of three and a teacher from the suburbs is just simply, beyond amazing!

So even though I write for an audience of one, I thank and appreciate the wider audience and hope that you continue to enjoy my work and share it with your friends.

So as I go and get ready to share Mother’s Day with my own mother and grandmother, I sincerely thank you all for following on my journey as I embrace the writer within.

-KK

Just Your Mum

Cooking, cleaning, washing, feeding.

Hours of worry, sleepless nights.

Counselling, nursing, hugging, kissing.

Settling all those sibling fights.

 

Everything you need, I’ll find to you.

I love you more and more each day.

Your smile tells me you love me too.

I love you more than words can say.

 

I’m not a super hero like Wonder Woman,

Although that might be fun.

I’m someone who does it all because I’m not just any woman,

I’m just your mum.

© Katherine A. Kovacs and The Writer Within, (2013-2015). Unauthorised use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Katherine A. Kovacs and The Writer Within with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Leave a Reply

