The Art of Procrastination

Hello Lovelies,

This past week I’ve been avoiding writing and finding every other possible thing to do besides actually writing. But it’s not what you’re thinking, the writing I have been avoiding is a 1500 word annotated bibliography on the discourse of Creativity and Arts Education in relation to pedagogy, curriculum and policy design. I know it sounds boring doesn’t it? I’ve got time, it’s due on Friday and I’ve already downloaded some journal articles which are hopefully useful ones, but in the meantime I have remastered the “Art of Procrastination”.

I’ve decided I need to exercise more because I turn the “big 3-0” this June and I don’t want to be “old AND fat” (I know 30 is not that old, but I’m saying goodbye to my twenties in less than two months and it’s a little bit sad). However, I also seem to be negating the extra exercise I’ve been doing, I feel the need to snack whenever it looks like I might be getting something achieved in regards to my assignment. Also, something needs to be done about the ever growing basket of washing in the laundry and what better time than now, I also need to load the dishwasher, tidy the bedrooms, check my email a hundred and fifty times, read all the latest news and gossip and Google anything and everything. I mean, haven’t you always wondered what date Easter will be in the year 2051(April 2nd)? Or perhaps it was imperative that you know right this minute when Channing Tatum’s birthday is (he turned 34 on Saturday, in case you’re wondering). Plus, I really needed to go and buy a new stapler to staple together the journal articles I printed off for my assignment, because there is no way I could possibly place each article in one of the 150+ plastic sleeves I have on hand. So it’s very clear that I had to go and buy the new stapler and the track pants I picked up while I was there were totally justified, you know, because of all the extra exercise I’ve been doing.

So, my humble readers, I leave you with a silly poem I wrote about the Art of Procrastination, while I was procrastinating, aptly titled “The Art of Procrastination”.

Enjoy,

KK

The Art of Procrastination

 

Procrastination, delayed progress,

I think I’ll try on every dress.

As in my wardrobe, I look and see

Just how messy it seems to be.

I do not want to write a word,

The topic itself is just absurd.

I should be writing about discourse,

Instead I search for a source

Of entertainment or distraction,

To take me away from assessment action.

Perhaps I need to do the dishes,

Or imagine I had been granted wishes.

The washing pile is growing steady,

Oh look at the time I must get ready.

That assignment can be done another day

After all it’s not due until Friday. 

© Katherine A. Kovacs and The Writer Within, (2013-2015). Unauthorised use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Katherine A. Kovacs and The Writer Within with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

4 thoughts on “The Art of Procrastination

Leave a Reply

