Setting the Scene

Hello lovelies,

Welcome to another post.

This week I would like to introduce you to the main setting of my latest piece of writing.

The majority of the story is set in 1930’s England, but it is only after some research that I came to realise this.
When I first dreamt of this story, I instinctively knew that it was taking place in England, I also knew these characters were from not from our time.
After many hours on Google, I have come to the conclusion that the majority of the story takes place in Leicestershire, England in the 1930’s.

When writing stories set in a different time and place, there are many things to consider. Most importantly, I believe, you need to decide whether it is a complete work of fiction, or whether there will be some historical and geographical accuracies.

Whilst I intend for my writing to be a work of fiction, I have decided that it will contain some links and ties to specific historical events, geographical links and other specific details from the time and place in which my story is set. This requires hours of research which I am completing and I will continue to do as the story evolves.

I have always enjoyed stories that link to the real world, historically and geographically, to me, it makes the stories feel all the more real and it becomes easier for me to become lost in the world that the author has created. I am not shy to admit that I have Googled many things while reading to discover which aspects of the author’s world are real and so on.

Now it’s my turn to create a fictional world that is based on some truth, events in history and existing locations.

Please allow me to introduce you to Heath Manor, the inherited home of Thomas William Heath. Whilst the property is not really called Heath Manor, it is exactly how I imagined.

The real-life manor house is called Catthorpe Manor and it is now often used as a location for weddings. The extensive landscaped gardens and elegance and grandeur of the property are what Heath Manor is like in the world I am creating.

If you would like to take a closer look at my Heath Manor (Catthorpe Manor) then take a little time to browse the website http://www.catthorpemanor.co.uk/about-us/ or search Catthorpe Manor on YouTube.

Next week I will hopefully have Thomas’ description of Heath Manor finished, so you can have a read and see how the two compare.

Thanks for stopping by as I continue my journey and embrace the writer within,

-KK

*please note that I do not own the picture of Catthorpe Manor, it was taken from the website listed above and I am under the understanding that the photo was taken by Jem’s photography http://www.jemsphotography.co.uk/ or Images with Love http://www.imageswithlove.co.uk/ I am awaiting confirmation regarding the exact origin of this picture and I will post in the comments the details when I receive them.

© Katherine A. Kovacs and The Writer Within, (2013-2015). Unauthorised use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Katherine A. Kovacs and The Writer Within with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Leave a Reply

