The Journey Continues

Hello Lovelies,

Welcome to my second post.

I’d just like to take a moment to thank you for following me on my journey, as I embrace the writer within.

A question I have been thinking a lot about lately is, how do I know that I am a writer?

I enjoy reading immensely and becoming lost in a world other than my own, but when I am reading, it is not my words or my characters, I always have questions about the characters, I want to know their back story and I want to know what happens to these characters once the story ends. I become invested in the lives and world of characters where I am merely a bystander, a witness and I am not the one in control.

Writing is a way for me to express myself creatively. When I am the writer, I am the one in control. I know the characters, I know what happens after the story ends, I may not have it all written down, but I know what is going to happen in the lives of the characters, whether it is written down or not.

Some children have imaginary friends. I have characters being developed, in my head, sometimes in writing . If I were to openly tell people this, they would almost certainly think that I was a little bit crazy and suggest I seek professional help. Yet as a writer, these things happen often. In a way, character development is like imaginary friends for adults.

In the past I have written lyrics, music, short stories and poetry. Nothing is published, in fact, I haven’t really shared much of my writing. Even when I have written poetry as part of a Christmas gift, I often initial it “KK”, so people just assume that it is something from a Kris Kringle or Secret Santa, not making the connection to my initials.
This is something I am trying to change. As I embrace the writer within, my aim is to share a small piece of myself each week. It may be part of a story, poem, lyrics, music or even a sneak preview of the novel I’m working on.

So stay tuned lovely people and gain a sneak peek over the coming weeks.

Thanks for reading and wishing you all a very merry Christmas!

-KK

© Katherine A. Kovacs and The Writer Within, (2013-2015). Unauthorised use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Katherine A. Kovacs and The Writer Within with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Leave a Reply

